Kathryn Bayne (’82 MS Psych., ’86 Vet. Sci., ’86 PhD Wildlife Biol., ’87 DVM) received the 2023 Bennett J. Cohen Award, the highest honor given by AAALAC International, the world’s largest accrediting body for animal research and education programs.

Helen Diggs (’85 DVM) is senior director for North America at AAALAC International, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the welfare of animals in science and education. Diggs has 38 years of experience in veterinary and academic laboratory animal medicine and has served as a senior director for AAALAC since 2019. Previously, she was attending veterinarian, director of the Laboratory Animal Resources Center, and a professor at the Carson College of Veterinary Medicine at Oregon State University.


Marty Dickinson (’91 Gen. Stu.) will serve another six-year term on the WSU Board of Regents. Dickinson has been on the board since 2018. She has more than 27 years of experience in marketing, branding, communications, and organizational management, and she has served with the Spokane Regional Chamber of Commerce, the Downtown Spokane Partnership, Umpqua Bank, and STCU.

John Franson (’93 MS Zool., ’94 Ed.) has joined the medical staff of Franklin Health Primary Care in his hometown of Farmington, Maine. Previously, Franson worked at Caribou Memorial Hospital in Soda Springs, Idaho, for 21 years.

David May (’94 MA, ’98 PhD Poli. Sci.) is president of Bellevue College. Previously, he was president of Eastern Washington University, having started his career there as an assistant professor in 1999.


Justin Rodgers (’06 Mech. Eng.) is principal at BCE Engineers, a consulting firm in Fife, Washington. Rodgers has been with the company for 17 years, during which he has worked with nearly 20 school districts across the state and numerous projects for the Department of Defense.

Joshua Berning (’08 PhD Econ.) is a professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at Colorado State University. His areas of research include food marketing, food insecurity, consumer demand, and consumer health outcomes.


Alix Berglund (’10 Zool., ’14 DVM) is an assistant professor at the University of Maryland. She is the principal investigator of the Immunology and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory in the Department of Veterinary Medicine.

Sean Harris (’13 Sport Mgmt.) is associate commissioner for sports administration and championships for the NCAA Mountain West Conference. He previously served in the same role for the West Coast Conference and spent nine years with the Pac-12 Conference. At WSU, Harris competed as a decathlete.

Trevor Bond (’17 PhD History) is one of five 2024-25 Foley Speaker Fellows for the Humanities Washington Speakers Bureau program. Bond is associate dean for digital initiatives and special collections at the WSU Libraries and is director of the David G. Pollart Center for the Arts and Humanities. His book Coming Home to Nez Perce Country: The Niimíipuu Campaign to Repatriate Their Exploited Heritage was a finalist for the 2022 Washington State Book Award for nonfiction.

Ryan Yousefian (’17 Busi.) was recognized by Forbes in its “30 Under 30 Local” for Seattle. Yousefian, founder of ApnoMed, created an FDA-approved dental device called ApnoDent to treat sleep disorders caused by blocked airways. He secured more than $100,000 in prize money from competitions, including the University of Washington’s Health Innovation Challenge and Dempsey Business Plan Competition, to bootstrap his company.